My Top 12 Favourite Books

After much consideration on what my first official blog post could be… I came to the conclusion that what better way to really introduce myself than telling you all my favourite books. (Your also probably thinking why 12? Well that’s because I couldn’t cut it down any lower!)

So here they go! In no particular order because we all know that is absolute torture to any book lover

1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan (and really any series by Rick Riordan but I’m trying to keep the list down)

Percy Jackson was one of the first book series I ever read and the first that I ever loved. I started reading it when I was about 9 or 10 years old, and it’s stuck with me even now as a 16 year old. I’ve pretty much grown up with Percy and all the characters throughout the multiple series they’re in and I love that. I can honestly say I don’t think I’d be the same person today if I didn’t love this series. Every book of Rick’s is a new adventure and I hope he never stops writing.

2. Harry Potter by J.K Rowling 

Ok so this one is totally obvious… I mean who doesn’t love Harry? It’s a classic! I love this series and everything about it forever and always, and really nothing else needs to be said.

3. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

The Infernal Devices, along with The Mortal Instruments, is one of the first series I read that really got me into reading a few years ago. Therefore I have to be eternally grateful for it. Besides that though, this series brought on all the feels and is probably one of the only books where I don’t absolutely hate the love triangle (Will, Jem and Tessa will forever be my ot3). I love the action, the characters and the romance especially altogether. I am really in need of a reread of these books because I just love them so flipping much!

4. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles is an amazing fairy tale retelling full of wonderful characters so it’d be harder for me to not like it than to love it. There’s a lot to love about this series and if I start rambling I’ll never stop so a quick few things that I adore about this series: 1. The characters – I love every single of the main characters so much and they’re all so unique. Also the interaction between the whole group of them is gold! 2. The creativity – I am constantly in awe of how well Marissa Meyer tied in the retelling of the fairy tales with her own modern twist.  3. The plot – These books are all so good and exciting. The adventures these characters have are awesome and I will always be envious (kind of – realistically their adventures were very scary and I would have cried at almost every hurdle they faced)

5. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Lady Midnight is my favourite Cassandra Clare novel (so far anyway). I can’t really tell you why exactly because it’s been so long since I’ve read the others but I think majority of the reason is due to the characters in Lady Midnight. I love Emma and Julian with all my heart and Julian with his family makes my heart want to burst. As well as Christina and Emma’s friendship… all the interactions with all the characters just makes me happy! Ever since I finished Lady Midnight around a year ago I’ve had a countdown for Lord of Shadows and it’s FINALLY below a month! Eeeek!!

6. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater 

Where do I even begin with this one? So this series holds my favourite (male) character and from book 1, my favourite character’s life is threatened therefore as you would know or have guessed, this series pretty much destroyed me. I love all of the gang so much and as well the whole story just felt so mystical. Overall this series is amazing and if you haven’t read it yet, why?!

7. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Laini Taylor has some of the most beautiful writing I have ever read. It sweeps you up and transports you to the amazing worlds she creates. Her worlds are so interesting and unlike anything else I’ve read that its hard not to be in complete awe of them. But as well as that Daughter of Smoke and Bone has some amazing characters (cough cough Karou) and it’s full of heart wrenching events. So like most books that cause me tremendous emotional pain it became one my favourite book series.

8. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

Six of Crows is easily my favourite duology (probably because I haven’t read very many but it is amazing). These two books are gripping and lead you on such an amazing journey. As well, the cast of characters are just delightful. I loved every single one and the group dynamics are hilarious!

9. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

I know… another Laini Taylor book but can you really blame me? Strange the Dreamer has the same gorgeous writing as the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series but it’s also so unique to that series or any other series I’ve read. It’s seriously epic and I love how Laini Taylor constructed such an enormous conflict without even having a “bad” and “good” side. Seriously I’m super impressed! Also Sarai and Lazlo are some of my favourite characters and I can’t wait to see them again in Muse of Nightmares!

10. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins 

Okay so just  FYI – my guilty pleasure is YA romance novels. Sure, some of them can be pretty below average but some are just so cute and like a little bundle of happiness. Anna, Lola, and Isla all make me feel all the giddy and happy inside and they will forever be my go to for when I need a quick boost of pure happiness.

11. Morgan Matson

I know what you’re thinking… Renae, Morgan Matson isn’t a book. Well that is true, but I couldn’t choose just one of her books to add to the list so why not add them all? All of her books take me on the ultimate self-discovery journey. Morgan Matson always has the perfect mix of romance with self-discovery. I beg if you’ve never read one of her book, do yourself a favour and pick one up!

12. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Again this book is just a big load of happiness. I love these books and I love how giddy they make me feel! I’m super excited for the third (and final) one to come out and I hope with all my Lara Jean and Peter heart that I’m not disappointed.

Comment if we have any of the same favourite books! And share some of yours so I can add them to my TBR if I haven’t read them yet!

Thanks for reading!

Renae

5 thoughts on “My Top 12 Favourite Books

  1. We share quite a few of the same favourites: The Infernal Devices, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Anna and the French Kiss, The Lunar Chronicles, and Strange the Dreamer. I also love anything by VE Schwab but I can’t seem to finish the Darker Shade of Magic series and I really want to!

    Like

    1. I’ve only read the first two books in the Darker Shade of Magic series but I love it! I haven’t read any of her other books but I really want to! What do you suggest I pick up first?

      Like

      1. Both Vicious and This Savage Song are good but possibly I would recommend starting with Vicious. That’s the first book of hers I ever read it and it instantly got me hooked on her writing. I can’t wait for the sequel to come out.

        Like

Leave a Reply

